Sandsone Press Logo


Next Clockwork Orange sought for The Novella Award

An international novella writing competition, aiming to find a short novel to rival Hemingway's The Old Man of the Sea or Burgess's A Clockwork Orange, is this year being hosted by Liverpool John Moores University (LJMU).

Only in its second year, The Novella Award is designed to discover great writers of unpublished novellas and aims to raise the novella's profile in the literary world. Author of The Lighthouse, Alison Moore, will be judging the award. The Lighthouse was her first novel and was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2012. She also won the McKitterick Prize in 2013.

The Novella Award is a partnership between LJMU's Screen School, Manchester Metropolitan University (MMU) in Cheshire, Sandstone Press, Time To Read – the North West Libraries' reader development association - and the National Association of Writers in Education (NAWE).

Robert Graham, Head of Creative Writing at LJMU, commented: "When we founded the award at MMU in 2014, I had no idea it would grow so quickly. In only its second year, it has become a partnership between five impressive institutions."

The winning entrant will receive £1,000 and have his or her novella published by Sandstone Press, one of the UK's leading independent publishers and the latest winner of the Saltire Society Publisher of the Year Award. Sandstone's titles have won or been shortlisted for several major literary awards, including the Man Booker and Commonwealth Prize.

Robert Davidson, Managing Director of Sandstone Press, said: "We are once again proud to partner with The Novella Award and are delighted that LJMU is joining MMU and Sandstone in this fine endeavour."

The Novella Award 2015 is open is open to any unpublished novella between 20,000 to 40,000 words in length, and to any writer in the English-speaking world. The closing date is 5 June, 2015. For further information see

Jane Mathieson, of Time To Read, commented: "We are very happy to be working with The Novella Award again in 2015. Promoting it gives us an opportunity to bring many of the excellent novellas already in print to the attention of readers."

Anne Caldwell, Deputy Director of NAWE, added: "The National Association for Writers in Education is delighted to support The Novella Award this year. We hope our involvement will increase the scope and reach of the award to writers on a national and international basis."

The Novella Award is open to any unpublished novella between 20,000 and 40,000 words in length, and to any writer in the English-speaking world

1st Prize: £1,000 and publication by Sandstone Press
Runner Up: £500 and a reader's report
Deadline for entries: 5th June 2015
Entry fee: £17

The Novella Award (formerly the MMU Novella Award) was launched in 2014. The venture is a partnership between Liverpool John Moores University's Screen School; Manchester Metropolitan University's Department of Contemporary Arts; Sandstone Press; Time To Read (a forum of 21 library authorities in the North West of England); and NAWE (the National Association of Writers in Education).

James Edgecomb won the inaugural 2014 MMU Novella Award with his book, The Art of Kozu.

James Edgecombe

James Edgecombe