Sandstone Press

Jorn Lier Horst portrait

Jorn Lier Horst

Jorn Lier Horst (born in Bamble, Telemark 1970) is a former Senior Investigating Officer in the Norwegian police force. He made his literary debut as a crime writer in 2004 and is now considered one of the foremost Nordic crime writers. His William Wisting series of crime novels has been extremely successful, having sold more than 1 million copies in Norway alone. The series has also been translated into thirty languages and adapted for television. Dregs, the sixth novel, was published in English by Sandstone Press in 2011.

Horst's novels have won multiple awards. Closed for Winter won Norway's Booksellers' Prize in 2012 and was shortlisted for the Riverton Prize (aka Golden Revolver). The Hunting Dogs won both the prestigious Golden Revolver for best Norwegian crime, and The Glass Key, which widened the scope to best crime fiction in all the Nordic countries, in 2013, as well as the Martin Beck Award – from the Swedish Crime Writers' Academy – in 2014. Horst won The Petrona Award for Best Scandinavian Crime Novel of the Year in the UK in 2016 and 2019.

The William Wisting series is translated by Anne Bruce.

Books by this author

When It Grows Dark by Jorn Lier Horst
Ordeal by Jorn Lier Horst
The Caveman by Jorn Lier Horst
The Hunting Dogs by Jorn Lier Horst
Closed for Winter by Jorn Lier Horst
Dregs by Jorn Lier Horst